Names of God – El Shaddai

THURSDAY

 We will now begin examining the compound names of God in the OT. Each of the names of God will be preceeded by EL – the singular form of God.  You will remember that earlier this week God initially revealed Himself as Elohim – the plural form of El.

 The first compound name of God we see is El Shaddai which means Almighty in the Hebrew. Therefore, El Shaddai means God Almighty and is found five times in the OT. Shaddai is found by itself to describe God in another 43 references.

 El Shaddai pictures a God who is a powerful source of blessing and comfort. It is a name that gave the OT Patriarchs not only comfort but confirmation from God of His covenants.

 NAU Genesis 17:1 Now when Abram was ninety-nine years old, the LORD appeared to Abram and said to him, “I am God Almighty; Walk before Me, and be blameless.

 NIV Genesis 17:1 When Abram was ninety-nine years old, the LORD appeared to him and said, “I am God Almighty; walk before me and be blameless.

 KJV Genesis 17:1 And when Abram was ninety years old and nine, the LORD appeared to Abram, and said unto him, I am the Almighty God; walk before me, and be thou perfect.

 

NAU Genesis 35:11 God also said to him, “I am God Almighty; Be fruitful and multiply; A nation and a company of nations shall come from you, And kings shall come forth from you.

 
NIV Genesis 35:11 And God said to him, “I am God Almighty; be fruitful and increase in number. A nation and a community of nations will come from you, and kings will come from your body.

 
KJV Genesis 35:11 And God said unto him, I am God Almighty: be fruitful and multiply; a nation and a company of nations shall be of thee, and kings shall come out of thy loins;

 

 NAU Exodus 6:3 and I appeared to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, as God Almighty, but by My name, LORD, I did not make Myself known to them.

 NIV Exodus 6:3 I appeared to Abraham, to Isaac and to Jacob as God Almighty, but by my name the LORD I did not make myself known to them.

 KJV Exodus 6:3 And I appeared unto Abraham, unto Isaac, and unto Jacob, by the name of God Almighty, but by my name JEHOVAH was I not known to them.

0 Responses to “Names of God – El Shaddai”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

